Texas drivers who have lost their driving privileges due to DWI convictions and other related offenses are required to get DWI insurance to ensure minimum coverage on their vehicle.
If you were convicted of a DWI offense or another alcohol-related offense, you require a defense attorney to walk you through the process of obtaining DWI insurance and remaining in compliance with state law. This process is complex and requires the knowledge of an experienced attorney in order to avoid further legal complications due to lapsed insurance.
If you were convicted of an alcohol-related traffic offense and are now required to fulfill certain requirements to operate your vehicle, you are not alone. There are ways to partially restore you driving privileges; however, this process requires the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Here at The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy, our attorneys have decades of experience defending clients against alcohol-related traffic offenses, and restoring their privileges. The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy operates out of Plano, Texas and Allen, Texas, and accepts clients from surrounding cities including Carrollton, Frisco, Richardson, and Dallas.
If your driving privileges were altered due to an alcohol-related traffic offense, and you are now required to obtain DWI insurance, contact The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy at 469-304-3422 today to set up your free consultation with one of our Collin County attorneys.
We also serve clients from surrounding clients including Grayson County, Fannin County, Rockwall County, and Denton County.
Texas law requires drivers convicted of specific traffic crimes like DWIs, or who have lost driving privileges to get DWI insurance to ensure that the driver maintains the minimum insurance coverage required by state law.
Any changes, cancellations, or lapse of the insurance will result in a notification the Department of Public Safety that the driver is no longer in compliance with the law.
This insurance can apply to a driver and any vehicle he or she legally owns, a driver with permission to operate a vehicle that he or she does not own, or a combination of the two.
Texas law mandates that drivers required to carry DWI insurance shall have this coverage for at least two years starting at their conviction date. Insurance for bodily injury or death to one person in an accident must cover at least $30,000.
For bodily injury or death insurance for two or more people in an accident, Texas requires at least $60,000 in coverage. Coverage for damages to another person’s property in one accident must be at least $25,000.
These policies must be renewed within fifteen (15) days of their given expiration dates.
Texas Statute §601.195 states that operating a vehicle without an establishment of financial responsibility is considered a misdemeanor. This offense results in a maximum of six (6) months in jail and a maximum fine of $500.
In addition, Texas Statute §521.457 states that operating a vehicle with in invalid license is a Class B misdemeanor resulting in a maximum of 180 days in jail and a maximum fine of $2,000.
These penalties are enhanced if the improperly insured motorist was responsible for a collision resulting in death or serious bodily injury to another party. In this case, the offense is heightened to a Class A misdemeanor carrying a maximum of one (1) year in jail and a maximum fine of $4,000.
Municipal Court- Visit the Municipal Court site of the Plano Texas Government for more information on paying court fines and other fees. This website provides contact information for your nearest courthouse in Collin County. Also, find information on ways to keep safe on Texas roadways.
If you or someone you know was required to hold DWI insurance and failed to maintain the proper coverage, call The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy at 469-304-3422 for information on what your next steps should be. With Plano and Allen, Texas locations, our firm also serves those in Frisco, Dallas, Richardson, and Carrollton, Texas.
Our criminal defense attorneys also accept clients in neighboring counties including Collin County, Grayson County, Fannin County, Denton County, and Rockwall County.
This article was last updated on December 27, 2016.
I was charged with DWI in Collin County, Texas. I heard that this is a tough place to get a DWI charge defeated. Fortunately, I hired Richard McConathy and Brian Bolton. They took it all the way and won my case. I owe these guys alot. Don't mess with any lawyer that can't compare with these guys. Thank you Richard and Brian.William H. Collin County DWI