Individuals charged with a DWI/DUI are susceptible to a slew of different punishments and consequences, including having their driver’s license revoked for a period of time, sometimes leading up to years. If you are someone who is facing a DUI-related charge and you’re worried about your license being taken away from you, your fears are most definitely warranted.
People who are found under the suspicion of driving under the influence are susceptible to driver’s license suspension, and drivers who refuse roadside sobriety testing typically receive criminal and/or civil license suspensions immediately upon refusing the test. If this happens to you, you’ll need a criminal defense attorney who can quickly study your case and prepare for your subsequent hearing(s).
Reinstating your driver’s license can be a complex process to navigate, but it’s extremely important for you to retain your driving rights. Your license is what allows you to legally transport you and your family to work, school, the grocery store, and the many other destinations that make up the aspects of your life.
Serving Collin County, Plano, McKinney, and other surrounding areas of the county, criminal defense attorney Richard C. McConathy is a seasoned Plano criminal defense lawyer that is always ready to help you. Time is of the essence when your license is suspended, and you need a lawyer who will swiftly and decisively take action. With decades of litigation experience paired with an elite staff of legal experts, The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy have everything you need to stand your ground in the court of law; even when it gets difficult. Call us today at 469-304-3422.
● Driver’s License Suspension for DWI in Plano
● Texas Administrative License Revocation for DWI
● Plano Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions
● Juvenile DWI License Suspensions in Plano
● Plano County Resources for Driver’s License Suspensions
DWIs and DUIs are taken extremely seriously in the state of Texas, and its cities follow suit. In Plano, TX, a motorist is subject to driver’s license suspensions if they are found committing a DWI-related offense, according to Texas Transportation Code Sec. 521.344.
According to Texas’s transportation code, driver’s license suspensions must begin after the DWI/DUI conviction and must begin no later than the 30th day after the aforementioned conviction. Some of the criminal driver’s license suspensions in Plano include the following offenses and their accompanying suspension times:
● First-time DWI Offense - 90 days to 1 year
● Second (or subsequent) DWI Offense - 180 days to 2 years
● Second (or subsequent) DWI offenses within 5 years of a previous DWI conviction - One to two years
● Second (or subsequent) DWI Assault within 5 years of a previous DWI-related offense - 90 days to 1+ years
● DWI Manslaughter (1st) - 180 days to 2 years
● Any Subsequent DWI Manslaughters Within 10 Years - 1-2 years
● Under-21 DWI Offense - 1 year
When an individual is pulled over and pulled into a traffic stop due to a suspicion of driving under the influence, law enforcement officers typically ask the suspect to submit to a field sobriety test. Forms of field sobriety testing include breath and blood analysis, but if you refuse these tests, your driver’s license will be subject to immediate revocation. According to Texas Transportation Code Section 724.035, administrative license revocation lasts for a period of 180 days. Individuals who become repeat offenders are subject to 2-year license suspensions, though they may request a hearing to postpone the revocation.
Individuals who possess a commercial driver’s license can be severely punished if they are convicted of DWI/DUI related charges. Texas Transportation Code § 522.081 states that a commercial driver convicted of their first DWI-related offense will be barred from commercial driving for one year. Individuals who are convicted of two or more DWI/DUI offenses will be subject to a lifetime ban from commercial driving.
CDL privileges take time to be earned, but they can be lost in an instant. If you’re trying to figure out the best course of action for your potential commercial driver’s license suspensions, you must make sure you have a team of experts behind you to help you through your hearings, court appearances, and defense building.
Tex. Transp. Code § 521.342 states that juveniles (individuals under 21) are subject to a year-long license suspension if they are charged and convicted of a DWI or DUI related offense. This is considered a criminal penalty; Texas is extremely strict on underage drinking, and those who are caught committing this crime may face severe punishment.
If a juvenile has a previous DWI conviction, their license will be suspended for 120 days. If the minor has been convicted of two or more alcohol-related offenses, their license will be suspended for a period of 180 days.
Any individual under the age of 21 that refuses chemical testing of their blood or breath alcohol concentration (field sobriety testing) is subject to the same license suspensions and penalties as individuals over the age of 21. A first refusal to consent is an instant driver’s license suspension for 180 days. A second or subsequent refusal within 10 years will lead to an automatic suspension for two years.
Texas Department of Public Safety: Driver’s License Information - This link takes you to the official website of the Texas Department of Public Safety, where they offer detailed information on license suspensions and reinstatements. You can also check for any outstanding fines or fees associated with your DL (driver’s license) number.
Texas Department of Public Safety: Administrative License Revocation - Here, you can find information on license suspension and how you can request a hearing for your license revocation.
A driver’s license suspension is something that can devastate your life and stop you from enjoying a fruitful existence. Everyday life changes when you’re unable to take yourself to work, visit your friends and family, and simply enjoy the roads of Collin County. If you are ever faced with a potential suspension of your driver’s license, a Plano defense lawyer will most definitely come in handy.
Richard McConathy and his law office of litigation experts are here to give you hope. No Texan wants to see their driving privileges revoked, and the Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy are ready to build your defense case. Losing the ability to transport yourself, your possessions, and your loved ones can have such a negative impact on your ability to live an independent, fulfilling lifestyle. Serving Plano, Dallas, McKinney, Frisco, Allen, and the other surrounding areas of Collin County, we’re here to help you. Call our office today at 469-304-3422 to receive a confidential, no-cost, no-obligation consultation from a legal expert. We’re ready to make sure you have everything you need to start moving forward in your criminal case.